The Russell and District Horticultural Society is dedicated to engaging and educating gardeners of all ages. We encourage the improvement and beautification of our community through gardening, recycling, and supporting local businesses. Our goal is to enhance our community by making it even more beautiful while protecting the environment.



Upcoming Meetings and Events


Plant Sale - May 2022

Plant sale with plants from members' gardens, a yard sale and seedlings started by the students at STA. More info to come.



Become a member!


Adult membership is only $10 per year.


For juniors the registration fee is $10 per year/child. In households with more than 2 children, the fee is $10 per child for the first 2 children, then $5 per child for more.


You may purchase or renew your membership by:

1) sending an e-transfer to

2) sending a cheque made out to Russell and District Horticultural Society and mailed to 8730 Victoria Street, Metcalfe, ON, K0A 2P0

3) cash dropped off with Pegi Holtz at 8730 Victoria Street, Metcalfe


Whichever method you choose please indicate for our records: 1) your name 2) e-mail address and 3) phone number.


You will receive an electronic membership card via e-mail for you to print out.




Our membership year runs from January to December.


Two local businesses have generously made available a 10% discount on regular priced green nursery stock to members of the Russell and District Horticultural Society.


Visit Barry’s Home Hardware and Beyond the House Garden Centre, both on Craig Street in Russell for your next plant purchase.


All you have to do is show your 2022 membership card before you pay.


Wondering about other nurseries? Just ask at the store and show your membership card. Many places also give discounts for gardeners.



2021 Annual General Meeting

We held our AGM on November 15, 2021 and installed our new Board members for 2022. Here are some documents from that meeting.



2022 Board Members


Grace Stapper, President

Lindley McPhail, Co-First Vice-President

Pegi Holtz, Co-First Vice-President

Louise Houle, Second Vice-President

Manja Bastian, Treasurer

Connie Johnston, Secretary

Carole Van Die, Past President

Susan Barr, Director

Linda Duhamel, Director

Maria-Claire Ivanski, Director

Julie Keravel, Director

Christine Lanthier, Director

Marilyn MacMillan, Director

Diane Sharp, Director

Peter Van Die, Director

Marianne Vedder, Director



Past meetings

During 2021, we held some virtual meetings. To view the recordings you can visit our YouTube page.

Copyright 2021-2022 Russell and District Horticultural Society